GDMBR Canada Tour 2012

Adventure Cycling has just announced their guided tour schedule for 2012.  They are doing the GDMBR Canada section (Banff, AB -> Whitefish, MT) from July 15 to July 24, 2012.

I actually thought for a moment about signing up for this; it would be a good start to the route, and then I could continue on by myself after Whitefish.  But then I saw the cost! $1399 for camping and carrying your own gear?  WTF?  I’d rather spend that money on an occasional well-earned hotel stay during my trip!

AC is offering one other tour that looked tempting to me: Denali.  But I’m committed to the GDMBR next year; Denali will have to wait.

5 thoughts on “GDMBR Canada Tour 2012

  1. The Canadian portion of the GDR is definitely on my must-see list of bikepacking destinations. Like you, I just can’t see paying $1400 to be with a group as large as 14 people, though. Seems like 3 or 4 would be a better number. I’m hoping to get out there next year to celebrate my 50th year so if you are looking for volunteers, drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

