New Year’s Resolutions

Today I received an e-mail from Adventure Cycling asking for people to share their New Year’s Resolutions.  I simply sent them a link to my “About” page, which sums up why I’m so determined to do this ride.  And it got me thinking about past rides I’ve done, and I wanted to share a story from my first Ride the Rockies in 1999.

I was 41 years old at the time.  I pulled into a rest area and sat down at a picnic table next to a rider who was clearly a senior citizen.  I asked him how old he was, and he told me 70.  I said to him without a trace of sarcasm, “Wow, you’re my hero!”  And he replied, “There’s a guy doing the ride this year who is 80.  He’s my hero.”

This blew my mind.  Not that an 80-year old was doing the ride (which is impressive after all).  But it made me realize that the people you look up to as heroes are just everyday people, and they have heroes too.

So get out there and RIDE in 2012!  You just might be somebody’s hero. 🙂

Leave a Reply

