Psyched!!

Well, lots of activity around here lately. My ex is taking the kids on a 2-week trip right after July 4th, so that gives me two weeks to hit the Divide! I’m planning to drive from my home in Boulder, CO to Butte, MT. From there either I’ll ride north to Polebridge, circle back to Columbia Falls, and rent a car back to Butte, or else I’ll rent the car at the beginning and do the same route in the other direction. It would be somewhat easier to navigate the route N-S because that’s how the map narratives are set up. The advantage of going S-N is that if I find myself running short on time, it’s easy to cut the trip short. Would hate to have to rent a car twice, once at the beginning and once at the end. Still pondering that one.

Incidentally, I may have to change my blog name, because I might not be as “Phat” as originally planned :-). Just this very evening I received these bad-boy hoops from MikeC

Image

Yes, those are genuine Rabbit holes, laced offset for the Pugs, and folding Knards. MikeC is one of the only shops that has all these goodies in stock and ready to go!

I’m going to try these out for the next few weeks to see if I’d rather do the ride on these. I suspect the answer is going to be “yes”, but anything is possible. I’m anxious to see if these will roll as smoothly as the fat wheels. I haven’t weighed them yet, but I’m pretty certain I will save at least 2 pounds per wheel vs the LM/Larry donuts that I’m using right now!

I’ll report back after I’ve aired them up this weekend!

Leave a Reply

