First training ride of the season

Well, it got up to about 60 degrees today — January in Colorado! — so I couldn’t quite make myself drive to higher elevation and freeze my ass off snow-biking. Instead, I took out the Gnarvester, the bike I am going to ride in the Alberta Rockies 700 this summer.

20160123_131736

14.5 miles at an average pace of 8.5mph; I was slowed down not just by the climbing (1870 feet) but also by the fact that some of the roads were muddy and/or icy. The Boulder Creek Path in Boulder Canyon was especially treacherous.

Today’s ride made me realize two things: first, I have to convert to metric. The entire ride I found myself mentally converting my ride stats to km ridden, meters climbed, etc. Not only do I not want to be doing that all spring, but when I actually get to Alberta, and all the road signs are metric, I don’t want to constantly have be thinking, “ok, it’s 30km to the next water stop, let’s see that’s about 19 miles so it should take me 2 hours”. Especially not when I’m too tired to think! I want to think “fluently” in metric. So I’m going to pull the battery out of my Rox 8 and reboot in metric mode, and from now on, all the ride stats posted here will be metric.

Second, I have to get a shorter stem. My bike position is great for cranking along on a flat smooth road, but it sucks for climbing, and the AR700 is all about climbing.

On a related note, today I weighed my bikes. I’ve been trying to decide whether I wanted to take my 29+ Gnarvester or my Twenty2 Cycles fatbike on this ride. I think the fatbike is overkill, but I thought if the weights were close, it might be worth it for the comfort. I bought this scale on Amazon the other day and it arrived yesterday. The weights: 29.2 lbs for the Gnarvester, 33.2 lbs for the Twenty2. Advantage: Gnarvester. The only downside to the Gnarvester is that, with its 1×11 SRAM drivetrain, it doesn’t have as low a low nor as high a high as the Twenty2’s Rohloff. However, I think the 4 lb weight advantage ought to help on the climbs, and the reduced rolling resistance should help everywhere else.

Leave a Reply

