Nuts!

This morning I was fiddling around with my seat angle for the umpteenth time.  And I thought (why did I tempt fate!), “I wonder how long the bolts on this 20 year old seatpost are going to hold ou– CRAP!” Something snapped.  LOUDLY.  Turns out that I ripped the threads right out of the aluminum dowel nut that the bolt threads into. They came out in one continuous coil. Now what do I do?  The Pugsley uses a 27.2mm post,  and I don’t have another one.

Luckily, I’m a huge fan of the Performance brand seat clamp.  I have them on all my bikes because they use a stainless steel barrel nut so you can really crank them down tight. And I happened to have a spare one. Lo and behold, the dowel nut fit into the seat post and I was able to make my morning commute on the Pugs as I have grown accustomed to of late.

I can’t say enough good things about these seat post clamps. The collar is alloy, whereas the bolt and nut are stainless steel. In addition to having threads that are almost impossible to strip, the dowel nut design allows the bolt to pivot as it is tightened, preventing it from binding. IMHO this clamp is superior to much more expensive clamps.  It’s just icing on the cake that it happens to be about the cheapest clamp you can buy! I highly recommend it if you have seat post slippage problems.

Leave a Reply

